Abstract collage of science-related imagery
Transport Phenomena Research at the International Space Station to Benefit Life on Earth (NSF-ISS)

View guidelines

23-523

Important Information for Proposers

Any proposal submitted in response to this funding opportunity should be submitted in accordance with the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. The NSF PAPPG is regularly revised and it is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets the requirements specified in this solicitation and the applicable version of the PAPPG. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Supports interdisciplinary research in microgravity conditions that advances fluid dynamics, particulate and multiphase processes, combustion and fire systems, thermal transport processes, and nanoscale interactions for the benefit of life on Earth.

Synopsis

The Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems (CBET) in the Engineering Directorate of the National Science Foundation (NSF) is partnering with The Center for the Advancement of Science in Space, Inc. (CASIS) to solicit research projects in the general field of fluid dynamics, particulate and multiphase processes, combustion and fire systems, thermal transport processes, and nanoscale interactions that can utilize the International Space Station (ISS) National Lab to conduct research that will benefit life on Earth. Only entities that qualify as "U.S. Persons" under 22 U.S. Code §6010, including academic investigators, non-profit independent research laboratories and academic-commercial teams are eligible to apply. 

 

 

Program contacts

Ronald D. Joslin
rjoslin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7030 ENG/CBET
Nora F. Savage
nosavage@nsf.gov (703) 292-7949 ENG/CBET
William Olbricht
wolbrich@nsf.gov (703) 292-4842 ENG/CBET
Shahab Shojaei-Zadeh
sshojaei@nsf.gov (703) 292-8045 ENG/CBET
John W. Daily
jdaily@nsf.gov (703) 292-7937 ENG/CBET
Sumanta Acharya
sacharya@nsf.gov (703) 292-4509
Ryan Reeves
rreeves@issnationallab.org (321) 751-5151

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program