Smart Health and Biomedical Research in the Era of Artificial Intelligence and Advanced Data Science (SCH)

View Guidelines

21-530

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

The purpose of this interagency program solicitation is to support the development of transformative high-risk, high-reward advances in computer and information science, engineering, mathematics, statistics, behavioral and/or cognitive research to address pressing questions in the biomedical and public health communities. Transformations hinge on scientific and engineering innovations by interdisciplinary teams that develop novel methods to intuitively and intelligently collect, sense, connect, analyze and interpret data from individuals, devices and systems to enable discovery and optimize health.  Solutions to these complex biomedical or public health problems demand the formation of interdisciplinary teams that are ready to address these issues, while advancing fundamental science and engineering.

Updates and Announcements

Program Contacts

Wendy Nilsen
wnilsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-2568 CISE/IIS
Scott T. Acton
sacton@nsf.gov (703) 292-8910 CISE/CCF
Balakrishnan Prabhakaran
bprabhak@nsf.gov 703-292-4847 CISE/IIS
Steven J. Breckler
sbreckle@nsf.gov (703) 292-7369 SBE/BCS
Fay Cobb Payton
fpayton@nsf.gov (703) 292-7939 CISE/CNS
Wei Ding
weiding@nsf.gov (703) 292-8017 CISE/IIS
Georgia-Ann Klutke
gaklutke@nsf.gov (703) 292-2443 ENG/CMMI
Tatiana Korelsky
tkorelsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930 CISE/IIS
Sylvia Spengler
sspengle@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930 CISE/IIS
Betty K. Tuller
btuller@nsf.gov (703) 292-7238 SBE/BCS
Huixia Wang
huiwang@nsf.gov (703) 292-2279 MPS/DMS
Albert Z. Wang
awang@nsf.gov (703) 292-7230
Xiaojing J. Zhang
jzhang@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program