Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

S-STEM Program Office Hours

December 9, 2021

The National Science Foundation’s Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (S-STEM) Program is hosting office hours on the new solicitation (NSF 22-527).

S-STEM potential proposers are advised to watch the narrated webinar in advance of participating in office hours with NSF program officers. The webinar may be viewed here.

Office hours will take place on the following dates and time. Register to receive Zoom webinar links via email:

December 16, 2021

3:00 – 5:00 PM           

Dec 16 Registration


December 20, 2021

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM 

Dec 20 Registration


January 7, 2022

3:00 – 5:00 PM

Jan 7 Registration


January 11, 2022

11:00 AM – 1:00 PM         

January 11 Registration


Real-time closed captioning will be available.

S-STEM has a deadline of February 22, 2022. The list of S-STEM-eligible disciplines, required documentation, and limits on number of submissions per institution have changed and it is highly recommended that all potential proposers read the solicitation thoroughly, watch the presentation, and participate in the office hour question and answer sessions.

The main goal of the S-STEM program is to enable low-income, talented domestic undergraduate and graduate students to pursue successful careers in promising STEM areas of strategic national need. Ultimately, the S-STEM program wants to increase the number of low-income students who graduate and contribute to the American innovation economy with their STEM knowledge. We encourage prospective S-STEM PIs to bookmark the program website link above, which includes the contact information for S-STEM program officers.