National Robotics Initiative 3.0: Innovations in Integration of Robotics (NRI-3.0)

View Guidelines

21-559

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

The National Robotics Initiative 3.0: Innovations in Integration of Robotics (NRI-3.0) program builds upon the preceding National Robotics Initiative (NRI) programs to support fundamental research in the United States that will advance the science of robot integration.  The program supports research that promotes integration of robots to the benefit of humans including human safety and human independence. 

Collaboration between academic, industry, non-profit, and other organizations is encouraged to establish better linkages between fundamental science and engineering and technology development, deployment, and use.

The NRI-3.0 program is supported by multiple agencies of the federal government including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the Department of Transportation (DOT), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Questions concerning a particular project's focus, direction, and relevance to a participating funding organization should be addressed to that agency's point of contact, listed in section VIII of this solicitation.

 

Program Contacts

U.S. Department of Transportation

Mr. David Kuehn

Turner Fairbank Highway Research Center

6300 Georgetown Pike

McLean, VA 22101

 

Email: david.kuehn@dot.gov

Telephone: (202) 493-3414

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Dr. Terry Fong

NASA Ames Research Center

M/S 269-1

Moffett Field, CA 94035-1000

 

Email: terry.fong@nasa.gov

Telephone: (650) 604-1349

National Institutes of Health

Dr. Moria Bittmann

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering

6707 Democracy Blvd, Suite 200 

Bethesda, MD 20892

Email: moria.bittman@nih.gov

Telephone: 301-451-4778 

 

Dr. Lyndon Joseph

National Institute on Aging

National Institute on Aging, NIH, DHHS

7201 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 3C307

Bethesda, MD 20892-9205 

Email: Josephlj@nia.nih.gov      

Telephone: 301-496-6926

 

Dr. Danilo Tagle

National Center for Advancing Translation Sciences

6701 Democracy Blvd., Room 940

Bethesda, MD 20892

Email: danilo.tagle@nih.gov

T: (301) 594-8064

 

Dr. Cheri Wiggs

National Eye Institute

6700B Rockledge Dr., MSC 6914
Bethesda, MD 20892

Email: cheri.wiggs@nih.gov

Telephone: 301-451-2020

 

Dr. Kristopher Bough

National Institute of Nursing Research

6701 Democracy Blvd., Room 710
Bethesda, MD 20892-4870

Email: kristopher.bough@nih.gov

Telephone: 301-496-6204

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health

Dr. Sharon Chiou

NIOSH/CDC

1095 Willowdale Road, MS L1055

Morgantown, WV 26505

 

Email: schiou@cdc.gov

Telephone: 304-285-6029

United States Department of Agriculture

Dr. Steven Thomson
USDA-National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)

6501 Beacon Drive

5NW054, 5th Floor

Kansas City, MO 64133

 

Ph: 202-603-1053

Email: steven.j.thomson@usda.gov

Juan Wachs
jwachs@nsf.gov (703) 292-8714
Erion Plaku
CISE/IIS
eplaku@nsf.gov (703) 292-8695 CISE/IIS
Scott Acton
CISE/CCF
sacton@nsf.gov (703) 292-2124 CISE/CCF
Radhakisan Baheti
ENG/ECCS
rbaheti@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339
Jordan Berg
ENG/CMMI
jberg@nsf.gov (703) 292-5365 ENG/CMMI
Irina Dolinskaya
ENG/CMMI
idolinsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-7078 ENG/CMMI
Ephraim P. Glinert
CISE/IIS
eglinert@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930 CISE/IIS
Wu He
EHR/DRL
wuhe@nsf.gov (703) 292-7593 EHR/DRL
Grace Hwang
ghwang@nsf.gov (703) 292-4721 ENG/CBET
Tatiana Korelsky
CISE/IIS
tkorelsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930 CISE/IIS
Bruce Kramer
ENG/CMMI
bkramer@nsf.gov (703) 292-5348 ENG/CMMI
Frederick M. Kronz
SBE/OAD
fkronz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7283 SBE/SES
Wendy Nilsen
CISE/IIS
wnilsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-2568 CISE/IIS
Ralph Wachter
CISE/CNS
rwachter@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950 ENG/CMMI
Jie Yang
CISE/IIS
jyang@nsf.gov (703) 292-4768 CISE/IIS

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program