National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI)

View Guidelines

15-519

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

Over the past decade of its authorized award life, the National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN) has enabled major discoveries, innovations, and contributions to education and commerce by providing researchers from academia, small and large companies, and government with open access to university user facilities with leading-edge fabrication and characterization tools, instrumentation, and expertise within all disciplines of nanoscale science, engineering, and technology. The National Science Foundation is now moving forward with the new National Nanotechnology Coordinated Infrastructure (NNCI) as the successor to the NNIN.

This solicitation establishes a competition for individual university user facility sites positioned across the nation. A Coordinating Office will then be selected competitively at a later stage from among the selected sites to enhance their impact as a national infrastructure of user facility sites. The ultimate selection of user facility sites will include capabilities and instrumentation addressing current and anticipated future user needs across the broad areas of nanoscale science, engineering, and technology.

Program Contacts

Lawrence Goldberg
lgoldber@nsf.gov (703) 292-5373 ENG/ECCS
Guebre X. Tessema
gtessema@nsf.gov (703) 292-4935
Michelle Bushey
mbushey@nsf.gov (703) 292-4938 MPS/OAD
Sally O'Connor
socconor@nsf.gov (703) 292-4552 BIO/DBI
Sankar Basu
sabasu@nsf.gov (703) 292-7843 CISE/CCF
David Lambert
dlambert@nsf.gov (703) 292-4736 GEO/EAR
Frederick Kronz
fkronz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7283 SBE/SES
David Brown
drbrown@nsf.gov (703) 292-8831
Graham Harrison
gharriso@nsf.gov (703) 292-7252

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program