Materials Use: Science, Engineering, and Society (MUSES)

Status: Archived

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

This funding opportunity is no longer current and has been archived.

Synopsis

MUSES is aimed at soliciting new multidisciplinary activities that encourage researchers in engineering, physical and life sciences, social and behavioral sciences, economics, mathematics, and education to reach beyond their disciplinary boundaries in order to address complex issues related to materials use in the environment. There are two challenges: (a) to propose exploratory research issues that are viable and (b) to create new teams of researchers with the necessary expertise who can work together.

Program contacts

For questions relating to Grants.gov contact:

  • Grants.gov Contact Center: If the Authorized Organizational Representatives (AOR) has not received a confirmation message from Grants.gov within 48 hours of submission of application, please contact via telephone: 1-800-518-4726; e-mail: support@grants.gov.
Matthew Realff
mrealff@nsf.gov (703) 292-7081
Bruce K. Hamilton
Division Director
bhamilto@nsf.gov (703) 292-8320 ENG/CBET
David L. Nelson
Program Director (SSC)
dnelson@nsf.gov (703) 292-4932
Paul J. Werbos
Program Director
pwerbos@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339
Richard J. Fragaszy
Program Director
rfragasz@nsf.gov (703) 292-8360
Robert E. O'Connor
Program Director
roconnor@nsf.gov (703) 292-7263 SBE/SES
Robert M. Wellek
Deputy Division Director
rwellek@nsf.gov (703) 292-8370
Thomas F. Russell
Program Director
trussell@nsf.gov (703) 292-4863

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program