Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU - EiR)

View guidelines

20-542

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Supports research at public and private historically Black colleges and universities to stimulate sustainable improvement in their research and development capacity.

Synopsis

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU-EiR) program was established in response to direction provided in the Senate Commerce and Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Report (Senate Report 115-139), and is built on prior and continuing efforts by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to strengthen research capacity at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). This report provided guidance to NSF to establish the HBCU Excellence in Research program "to provide opportunities for both public and private HBCUs, particularly for those who have not been successful in larger NSF Research & Related Activities competitions, in order to stimulate sustainable improvement in their research and development capacity" (https://congress.gov/congressional-report/115th-congress/senate-report/139/1). EiR supports such capacity building by funding research projects aligned with NSF’s research programs. The program aims to establish stronger connections between researchers at HBCUs and NSF’s research programs.

Program contacts

Dina Stroud
dstroud@nsf.gov (703) 292-5015 OD/OIA
Anna K. Allen
akallen@nsf.gov (703) 292-8011 BIO/IOS
Subrata Acharya
acharyas@nsf.gov (703) 292-2451 CISE/CNS
Christine S. Grant
cgrant@nsf.gov (703) 292-7107 ENG/EEC
Brandon Jones
mbjones@nsf.gov (703) 292-4713 GEO/OAD
Kathleen McCloud
kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236 MPS/PHY
Carleitta L. Paige-Anderson
cpaigean@nsf.gov (703) 292-2816 EDU/EES
Enrique Pumar
epumar@nsf.gov (703) 292-5188 SBE/OAD
Nina Maung-Gaona
nmaungga@nsf.gov (703) 292-4697 TIP/ITE

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program