Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU - EiR)

View Guidelines

20-542

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

The Historically Black Colleges and Universities - Excellence in Research (HBCU-EiR) program was established in response to direction provided in the Senate Commerce and Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee Report (Senate Report 115-139), and is built on prior and continuing efforts by the National Science Foundation (NSF) to strengthen research capacity at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). This report provided guidance to NSF to establish the HBCU Excellence in Research program "to provide opportunities for both public and private HBCUs, particularly for those who have not been successful in larger NSF Research & Related Activities competitions, in order to stimulate sustainable improvement in their research and development capacity" (https://congress.gov/congressional-report/115th-congress/senate-report/139/1). EiR supports such capacity building by funding research projects aligned with NSF’s research programs. The program aims to establish stronger connections between researchers at HBCUs and NSF’s research programs.

Program Contacts

Carleitta L. Paige-Anderson
cpaigean@nsf.gov (703) 292-2816 EHR/HRD
Michelle Claville
mclavill@nsf.gov (703) 292-7751
Randy Phelps
rphelps@nsf.gov (703) 292-5049 OD/OIA
Fay Cobb Payton
fpayton@nsf.gov (703) 292-7939 CISE/CNS
Kwabena Gyimah-Brempong
kgyimahb@nsf.gov (703) 292-7466 SBE/SES
Jodie Jawor
jjawor@nsf.gov (703) 292-7887 BIO/IOS
Brandon Jones
mbjones@nsf.gov (703) 292-4713 GEO/OAD
Kathleen McCloud
kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236 MPS/PHY
Engin Serpersu
eserpers@nsf.gov (703) 292-7124 BIO/MCB
Guebre X. Tessema
gtessema@nsf.gov (703) 292-4935
Edward J. Berger
eberger@nsf.gov (703) 292-7708
Christine S. Grant
cgrant@nsf.gov (703) 292-7107 ENG/EEC

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program