Engineering Technologies to Advance Underwater Sciences (ETAUS)

View guidelines

22-617

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

An Ideas Lab is an intensive meeting that brings together multiple diverse perspectives to focus on finding innovative cross-disciplinary solutions to a grand challenge problem. The aim of this Ideas Lab is to bring together experts from diverse scientific and engineering backgrounds to develop innovative engineering technologies and solutions that will enable real-time and reliable sensing, communications, localization, navigation, and mapping of aquatic environments, including glaciers, rivers, lakes, and oceans, for scientific research and economic development in a sustainable and environmentally responsible manner.

This Ideas Lab will seek and prioritize proposals which will measurably increase the diversity and participation of underrepresented minorities in STEM.

This Ideas Lab is organized by the Division of Electrical, Communications and Cyber Systems (ECCS) and Division of Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation (CMMI) in the Directorate for Engineering (ENG), the Division of Ocean Sciences (OCE) and the Office of Polar Programs (OPP) in the Directorate for Geosciences (GEO), the Division of Environmental Biology (DEB) and the Division of Biological Infrastructure (DBI) in the Directorate for Biological Sciences (BIO), and the Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (OAC) in the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE).

Program contacts

For questions related to environmental compliance, please contact Holly E. Smith, Office of the General Counsel, phone (703) 292-7713, email hesmith@nsf.gov. 

Zhengdao Wang
zwang@nsf.gov (703) 292-7823 ENG/ECCS
Jenshan Lin
jenlin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7360 ENG/ECCS
Giovanna Biscontin
gibiscon@nsf.gov (703) 292-2339 ENG/CMMI
Kathryn Jablokow
kjabloko@nsf.gov (703) 292-7933 ENG/CMMI
Kandace S. Binkley
kbinkley@nsf.gov (703) 292-7577 GEO/OCE
Maurice A. Tivey
mtivey@nsf.gov (703) 292-7298 GEO/OCE
Kelly M. Brunt
kbrunt@nsf.gov (703) 292-8457 GEO/OPP
Olivia Lee
olee@nsf.gov (703) 292-2611 GEO/OPP
Allen J. Pope
apope@nsf.gov (703) 292-2858 GEO/OPP
Robyn Smyth
rsmyth@nsf.gov (703) 292-2996 BIO/DEB
Francisco B. Moore
fbmoore@nsf.gov (703) 292-5376 BIO/DEB
Robert D. Fleischmann
rfleisch@nsf.gov (703) 292-7191 BIO/DBI
Kevin L. Thompson
kthompso@nsf.gov (703) 292-4220 CISE/OAC

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program