Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects (PHY)

View guidelines

21-593

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Supports experimental and theoretical research across major subfields of physics.

Synopsis

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and the preparation of future scientists in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics at the Information Frontier; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics; and Quantum Information Science. Principal Investigators (PIs) are encouraged to consider including specific efforts to increase diversity of the physics community and broaden participation of under-represented groups in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). 

Additional Information

The Division of Physics strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than submission of multiple related proposals to several programs.

PIs considering submitting more than one proposal to this solicitation, or who already have an active PHY award, are encouraged to first consult with the relevant program officer(s) before preparing a new proposal. This does not apply to awards from or submissions to the MRI, REU, and/or center programs, or in cases of renewal proposals.

Due Dates

Full Proposal Deadline(s) (due by 5 p.m. submitter’s local time):

Program(s)

Deadline

Plasma Physics

Third Monday in November, e.g. November 21, 2022

AMO – Theory and Experiment

Gravitational Physics – Theory and Experiment

LIGO Research Support

Integrative Activities in Physics

Fourth Wednesday in November,

e.g. November 23, 2022

Nuclear Physics – Theory and Experiment

Elementary Particle Physics – Experiment

Particle Astrophysics – Experiment

First Tuesday in December, e.g. December 06, 2022

Elementary Particle Physics – Theory

Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology – Theory

Physics of Living Systems

Quantum Information Science

Second Tuesday in December,

e.g. December 13, 2022

Program contacts

Krastan B. Blagoev
Physics of Living Systems
kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666 MPS/PHY
Mark Coles
Projects and Facilities
mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432 MPS/PHY
Alex Cronin
Quantum Information Science
acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302 MPS/PHY
Keith R. Dienes
Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology - Theory
kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314 MPS/PHY
Robert Forrey
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Theory; Quantum Information Science
rforrey@nsf.gov (703) 292-5199 MPS/PHY
Alfredo Galindo-Uribarri
Nuclear Physics - Experiment
agalindo@nsf.gov (703) 292-5139 MPS/PHY
Angel E. Garcia
Physics of Living Systems
aegarcia@nsf.gov (703) 292-8897 MPS/PHY
John Gillaspy
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Experiment
jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173 MPS/PHY
Darren Grant
Particle Astrophysics - Experiment
dgrant@nsf.gov (703) 292-8977 MPS/PHY
Kevin Jones
Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics - Experiment
kejones@nsf.gov (703) 292-7732 MPS/PHY
Jose Lopez
Plasma Physics
joslopez@nsf.gov (703) 292-2319 MPS/PHY
Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin
Plasma Physics
vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382 MPS/PHY
Pedro Marronetti
Gravitational Physics - Theory and Experiment; LIGO Research Support
pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372 MPS/PHY
Kathleen McCloud
Integrative Activities in Physics
kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236 MPS/PHY
Bogdan Mihaila
Physics at the Information Frontier; Nuclear Physics - Theory
bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235 CISE/OAC
Allena K. Opper
Nuclear Physics - Experiment
aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958 MPS/PHY
James T. Shank
Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment
jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-4516 MPS/PHY
William Wester
Particle Astrophysics - Experiment
wwester@nsf.gov (703) 292-4677 MPS/PHY

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program