Cyberinfrastructure for Sustained Scientific Innovation (CSSI)

View Guidelines


Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


The Cyberinfrastructure for Sustained Scientific Innovation (CSSI) umbrella program seeks to enable funding opportunities that are flexible and responsive to the evolving and emerging needs in cyberinfrastructure (CI). This solicitation expands the CSSI program by adding a new project class: Transition to Sustainability. The program continues to emphasize integrated CI services, quantitative metrics with targets for delivery and usage of these services, and community creation.

The CSSI umbrella program anticipates three classes of awards:

  • Elements: These awards target small groups that will create and deploy robust services for which there is a demonstrated need, and that will advance one or more significant areas of science and engineering.
  • Framework Implementations: These awards target larger, interdisciplinary teams organized around the development and application of services aimed at solving common research problems faced by NSF researchers in one or more areas of science and engineering, and resulting in a sustainable community framework providing CI services to a diverse community or communities.
  • Transition to Sustainability: These awards target groups who would like to execute a well-defined sustainability plan for existing CI with demonstrated impact in one or more areas of science and engineering supported by NSF. The sustainability plan should enable new avenues of support for the long-term sustained impact of the CI.

Prospective Principal Investigators (PIs) should be aware that this is a multi-directorate activity and that they are encouraged to submit proposals with broad, interdisciplinary interests. Further, not all divisions are participating at the same level, and division-specific priorities differ. Prospective PIs should also refer to the directorate/division-specific descriptions contained in Section II of this solicitation.

Finally, it is strongly recommended that prospective PIs contact program officer(s) from the list of Cognizant Program Officers in the division(s) that typically support the scientists and engineers who would make use of the proposed work, to gain insight into the priorities for the relevant areas of science and engineering to which their proposals should be responsive. As part of contacting Cognizant Program Officers, prospective PIs are also encouraged to ascertain that the focus and budget of their proposed work are appropriate for this solicitation.

Program Contacts

General questions on the solicitation should be sent to, or to the following Program Officers:

  • Tevfik Kosar, Program Director, CISE/OAC, telephone: (703) 292-7992
  • Seung-Jong Park, Program Director, CISE/OAC, telephone: (703) 292-4383
  • Alan Sussman, Program Director, CISE/OAC, telephone: (703) 292-7563
  • Amy Walton, Program Director, CISE/OAC, telephone: (703) 292-4538
Tevfik Kosar
Program Director, CSE/OAC (703) 292-7992 CISE/OAC
Varun Chandola
Program Director, CISE/OAC (703) 292-2656 CISE/OAC
Seung-Jong Park
Program Director, CISE/OAC (703) 292-4383 CISE/OAC
Alan Sussman
Program Director (703) 292-7563 CISE/OAC
Amy Walton
Program Director (703) 292-4538 CISE/OAC
Peter H. McCartney
Program Director (703) 292-8470 BIO/DBI
Almadena Y. Chtchelkanova
Program Director (703) 292-8910 CISE/CCF
Sol Greenspan
Program Director (703) 292-8910 CISE/CCF
Hector Munoz-Avila
Program Director, CISE/IIS (703) 292-4481 CISE/IIS
Sylvia Spengler
Program Director (703) 292-8930 CISE/IIS
Abiodun Ilumoka
Program Director (703) 292-2703 EHR/DUE
Victor P. Piotrowski
Program Director, EHR/DGE (703) 292-8670 EHR/DGE
Ronald Joslin
Program Director (703) 292-7030 ENG/CBET
Shahab Shojaei-Zadeh
Program Director (703) 292-8045 ENG/CBET
Rosa Lukaszew
Program Director, ENG/ECCS (703) 292-8103 ENG/ECCS
Eric DeWeaver
Program Director (703) 292-8527 GEO/AGS
Eva E. Zanzerkia
Program Director (703) 292-4734 GEO/EAR
Sean C. Kennan
Program Director (703) 292-7575 GEO/OCE
Allen J. Pope
Program Director, GEO/OPP (703) 292-8003 GEO/OPP
Marc Stieglitz
Program Director (703) 292-4354 GEO/OPP
Nigel A. Sharp
Program Director (703) 292-4905 MPS/AST
Richard Dawes
Program Director (703) 292-7486 MPS/CHE
Daryl W. Hess
Program Director (703) 292-4942 MPS/DMR
Edsel A. Pena
Program Director, MPS/DMS (703) 292-8080 MPS/DMS
Christopher W. Stark
Program Director (703) 292-4869 MPS/DMS
Vyacheslav (Slava) Lukin
Program Director (703) 292-7382 MPS/PHY
Pedro Marronetti
Program Director (703) 292-7372 MPS/PHY
Bogdan Mihaila
Program Director (703) 292-8235 CISE/OAC
Cheryl L. Eavey
Program Director (703) 292-7269 SBE/SES

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program