Abstract collage of science-related imagery
Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Grants (AAG)

View guidelines

22-624

Important Information for Proposers

Any proposal submitted in response to this funding opportunity should be submitted in accordance with the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) that is in effect for the relevant due date to which the proposal is being submitted. The NSF PAPPG is regularly revised and it is the responsibility of the proposer to ensure that the proposal meets the requirements specified in this solicitation and the applicable version of the PAPPG. Submitting a proposal prior to a specified deadline does not negate this requirement.

Supports observational, theoretical, laboratory and archival data research in astronomy and astrophysics.

Synopsis

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Grants (AAG) Program is an inclusive and flexible funding opportunity to support research in the astronomical sciences. The Program provides individual investigator and collaborative research grants for observational, theoretical, laboratory, and archival data studies in astronomy and astrophysics. The Program also considers proposals for projects and tools that enable or enhance astronomical research. Proposals may span multiple disciplines and/or areas of study and may utilize multiple techniques.

Program contacts

EXC: Extragalactic astronomy

GAL: Galactic astronomy

PLA: Planetary astronomy

SAA: Stellar astronomy and astrophysics

Hans A. Krimm
Coordinator
hkrimm@nsf.gov (703) 292-2761 MPS/AST
Andreas A. Berlind
Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology (EXC) Lead
aberlind@nsf.gov (703)292-5387 MPS/AST
Glen Langston
Galactic Astronomy (GAL) Lead
glangsto@nsf.gov (703) 292-4937 MPS/AST
Currently Vacant
Planetary and Exoplanetary (PLA) Lead
xxx@nsf.gov none MPS/AST
Hans A. Krimm
Stellar Astronomy (SAA) Lead
hkrimm@nsf.gov (703) 292-2761 MPS/AST
Carrie Black (PLA)
cblack@nsf.gov 703-292-2426 MPS/AST
Christopher J. Davis (GAL)
chrdavis@nsf.gov (703) 292-4910 MPS/AST
Harshal Gupta (GAL)
Lab Astro
hgupta@nsf.gov (703) 292-5039 MPS/AST
James Higdon (EXC, SAA)
jhigdon@nsf.gov 703-292-2389 MPS/AST
Sarah Higdon (EXC, SAA)
shigdon@nsf.gov (703) 292-2541 MPS/AST
Zoran Ninkov (SAA)
zninkov@nsf.gov (703) 292-2533 MPS/AST
Alison Peck (EXC)
apeck@nsf.gov 703-292-2522 GEO/OPP
Joseph E. Pesce (EXC)
jpesce@nsf.gov (703) 292-7373 MPS/AST
Andrea Prestwich (EXC, SAA)
aprestwi@nsf.gov (703) 292-2210 MPS/AST
Luca Rizzi (SAA)
lrizzi@nsf.gov (703) 292-4622 MPS/AST
Nigel A. Sharp (EXC)
nsharp@nsf.gov (703) 292-4905 MPS/AST
Martin D. Still (PLA)
mstill@nsf.gov (703) 292-4290 MPS/AST

Awards made through this program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program