Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Grants (AAG)

View Guidelines

18-575

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

Synopsis

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Research Grants (AAG) Program is an inclusive and flexible funding opportunity to support research in the astronomical sciences. The Program provides individual investigator and collaborative research grants for observational, theoretical, laboratory, and archival data studies in astronomy and astrophysics. The Program also considers proposals for projects and tools that enable or enhance astronomical research. Proposals may span multiple disciplines and/or areas of study and may utilize multiple techniques.

Program Contacts

EXC: Extragalactic astronomy

GAL: Galactic astronomy

PLA: Planetary astronomy

SAA: Solar astronomy and astrophysics

Hans A. Krimm (Coordinator)
Stellar
hkrimm@nsf.gov (703) 292-2761 MPS/AST
Nigel A. Sharp (EXC Lead)
nsharp@nsf.gov (703) 292-4905 MPS/AST
Glen Langston (GAL Lead)
Galactic
glangsto@nsf.gov (703) 292-4937 MPS/AST
Luke S. Sollitt (PLA, SAA Lead)
lsollitt@nsf.gov (703) 292-8225 MPS/AST
Matthew J. Benacquista (Expert)
mbenacqu@nsf.gov (703) 292-8535 MPS/AST
Andreas A. Berlind (EXC)
anberlin@nsf.gov (703)292-5387
Carrie Black (PLA)
cblack@nsf.gov 703-292-2426 MPS/AST
Christopher J. Davis (GAL)
chrdavis@nsf.gov (703) 292-4910 MPS/AST
Harshal Gupta (GAL)
Lab Astro
hgupta@nsf.gov (703) 292-5039 MPS/AST
James Higdon (EXC, SAA)
jhigdon@nsf.gov 703-292-2389 MPS/AST
Sarah Higdon (EXC, SAA)
shigdon@nsf.gov (703) 292-2541 MPS/AST
Zoran Ninkov (SAA)
zninkov@nsf.gov (703) 292-2533 MPS/AST
Alison Peck (EXC)
apeck@nsf.gov 703-292-2522 MPS/AST
Joseph E. Pesce (EXC)
jpesce@nsf.gov (703) 292-7373 MPS/AST
Martin D. Still (PLA)
mstill@nsf.gov (703) 292-4290 MPS/AST

Awards Made Through This Program

Browse projects funded by this program
Map of recent awards made through this program