Roles and Permissions

Why use a Content Management System (CMS)? 

Versioning

An advantage to using a modern Content Management System (CMS) is the automatic versioning of content every time it is saved. Versioning allows you to look back at previous versions and identify something that changed.  This can save you a lot of re-work if you make a change and then decide an earlier version had something you wanted. You have several options for bringing content from the older version forward to the current version. 

Media and document files live in a collection

Another advantage to using a modern content management system is that media – images, videos, PDF documents, and the like – are uploaded into a media collection and are re-usable. You can browse the media collection to get ideas for media to put in your page or component. 
You can try different layouts using the media. You can move images around or remove them from a component and re-add them somewhere else. 

Removing an image from a page or component does not delete it from the CMS. If you deleted media from your page or component and then decide to use it again, simply choose the image for your page or component and save it. 

Note: If you delete a page that deletion is permanent, but your images and media remain in the system.

We have many users creating, editing, and publishing content on the NSF website. Rather than assigning individual permissions to each user, permissions are assigned to roles, and roles are then assigned to users. 

We use four key roles:

  • Content author: can create and edit own content which must then be submitted to an editor for review or a publisher for publishing. Authors can delete content on pages they create but can't delete any page.
  • Content editor: has ability to edit certain pages and content types, but restricted from managing global content, like the Header and Footer, or from making advanced configurations. Editors also have option to delete content they created. Removing an image or media from a page or component does not delete it from the CMS.
  • Content publisher: has ability to edit and publish certain pages and content types, but restricted from managing global content, like the Header and Footer, or from making advanced configurations. Publishers also can delete content. Removing an image or media from a page or component does not delete it from the CMS.
  • Content admin: has ability to edit and publish any page and content type. Admins are allowed to manage global content, like the Header and Footer, and making advanced configurations. Admins can delete any content. Removing an image or media from a page or component does not delete it from the CMS.

Note: If you delete a page that deletion is permanent, but your images and media remain in the system.